Log in


Toll Free: 1 866 396 2549 

The Manitoba Water & Wastewater Association

is your source for water and wastewater training, careers, news and events.

  • Home
  • 2019 MWWA Award Nominations

2019 MWWA Award Nominations

  • 01 Oct 2018
  • 04 Jan 2019
  • Victoria Inn Airport - Winnipeg

Registration is closed

MWWA Annual Awards

The MWWA Board of Directors would like to emphasize the importance of nominations for these awards.  These awards are designed to recognize Operators who have gone "above & beyond" in their contributions to the Industry. 

Please take a moment to consider worthy candidates in your workplace. 

Jim Warrener - Rookie Operator of the Year Award

Please nominate a deserving Rookie for this prestigious award which is named in honor of Jim Warrener.  Jim was the facilitator of the Water and Wastewater School which originated at the University of Manitoba in 1955 under the Department of Health, Province of Manitoba. The Water and Wastewater school was set up to provide Operators with education in water and waste treatment.  Jim was the Provincial Representative on the MWWA Board for many years, and also served operators in Manitoba as the editor of the Bulletin as well as serving on Conference committees.  The most personable gentleman one could ever meet, Jim was employed by the Province of Manitoba as a Public Health Engineer for 38 years, retiring in 1993. Jim obtained a degree in Civil Engineering from the U of M, a M.Sc. in Public Health Engineering from the University of Toronto and his Doctorate degree.  Jim was President of WCWWA for the term of 1975 and 1976, and served the WCWWA as Secretary-Treasurer, Director, Conference Co-Chair and Bulletin Editor as well as WCW representative on the FACE Board and Chairman of Panel of Prairie Province Surface Water Quality.  As well, Jim has been honored as the recipient of many awards from Western Canada Water.

To provide encouragement to beginning Water and Wastewater Industry employees by recognizing excellent performance, initiative and all round attention to detail.

To be eligible for consideration the nominees

·  Must have been employed as an Operator in the water or wastewater industry for less than 5 years

·  Hold a current MWWA Membership

Nominations are judged on the basis of submissions covering

·  Commitment to and demonstrating a strong Occupational Health & Safety ethic in all work performed

·  Commitment to undertaking training and the implementation of skills learned into the workplace

·  Commitment to team work and following workplace Standard Operating Procedures, etc.

·  Commitment to meeting Employer and Regulatory requirement in the course of all work

·  Demonstrated use of initiative or suggestions leading to efficiency or safety improvements

·  Any other relevant industry based achievements.

Lorne Sayer Award

This award was created in honor of Lorne Sayer who, until the time of his death, was employed with the North East Tribal Council.  His mandate was to help the Bands within his jurisdiction to operate their water and wastewater systems in the most effective manner possible.  Lorne was returning to his community when he was tragically killed due to an airplane crash. 

This award is intended to acknowledge a member of the Association who has provided lifelong dedication to the Water and Wastewater industry, as well as faithful and meritorious service to the public.  Please provide a brief description of your reasons for nomination.

·    Criteria for the determination of the award is as follows - must hold a current MWWA membership.

George Balacko – Operator of the Year Award

George was a member of the Ad Hoc Committee that was instrumental in the formation of the Manitoba Water and Wastewater Association which had its beginning on March 12, 1975.  Voluntary Operator Certification was undertaken by the MWWA, and George was a large part of instituting this process, as it was determined that a standard of proficiency for those occupying water and wastewater positions needed to be established.  George held many positions in the MWWA including Chair of the Education Committee, Bulletin Editor and Conference Chair and was the Manitoba representative on the Training, Education & Certification Committee of the CWWA from 1974 to 1995. During his career with the MB Department of Health George was responsible for operator training from 1963 to 1971 when he became the Chief Public Health Engineer until his retirement in 1993.  George was the first recipient of WCWWA’s Honorary Life Membership Award as well as the first recipient of the Red River College Water and Wastewater School Service Award in March of 2003. George was WCWWA President for the term of 1981-82, and was further honored by Western Canada Water with the Fuller Award in 1971, the Lindsten Award in 1985, and the Bedell Award in 1994 and was the first recipient, in 1999, of the Manitoba Water and Wastewater Association’s Lorne Sayer Award. 

Recognizing the Member employee who has provided exceptional service to the public in a waterworks or wastewater capacity.   Criteria for the determination of the winner of the George Balacko Operator of the Year award is as follows

·  Must have been employed as an Operator in the water or wastewater industry for more than 5 years

·  Must hold a current MWWA membership

·  Should have direct responsibility for operational decisions at a water and/or wastewater system

Nominations are Due by - Friday, January 4th, 2019 

Please select the Award you wish to nominate for:

Jim Warrener Rookie of the Year ¨              

George Balacko Operator of the Year ¨

Lorne Sayer Award ¨

Nominee’s Name and community   (Please print clearly)


Name                                                                                                                                     Title


                                                            Name of Community/Town/City

My reasons for Nomination are: (Please ensure that your nominee meets the required criteria and provide as much detail as possible).




Nominator’s Name ________________________________ ___________________

                                                            Name                                                                   Community, Town or Municipality 

Nominator's Telephone No.________________________________

Nominator's Email_______________________________________

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software